Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Thursday, April 07, 2011

Dishes from nations at the Rugby World Cup 2011: France

Dishes from nations at the Rugby World Cup 2011

Well my first dish, I decided to come along to the cooking course hosted by Chrystel, where a wide range of dishes for beginners are taught from her native Lebanon to Italy. I decided to start my quest for the 20 nations dishes, where along with her team (including Nadia who is from France) she taught us that French food is not just about Frogs.

It proved to be a very enjoyable dish! Esp with fellow cook Jerry from Guyana who helped me cook it. The next dish is likely to come from me visiting a restaurant.

Ratatouille - vegatable stew

4 Large tomatoes

2 Aubergines

4 courgettes Large

2 large onions

2 red or green peppers

300g button mushrooms

1 or 2 cloves of garlic

1/3 cup of oil

Salt and pepper

Peel and slice tomatoes, cut the aubergines into large cubes. Cut the courgettes into thick rounds. Slice onions and peppers. Cut mushrooms in half. Gently heat the oil in a heavy based saucepan. Add onions and when soft, add the peppers, aubergines and courgettes.

Cook until the oil is absorbed (about 10 minutes) and then add the tomatos and mushrooms. Add 1 or 2 crushed cloves of garlic and season with salt and pepper. Simmer for at least 30 minutes or until you have a not-too-wet consistency.

I wished I had brought some Kronenbourg or Champagne to enjoy the drink

The comments are closed.